04 – 06 – 2021

Indie Chart (Week 22, 2021)

Pop-leaning American artists dominate this week's Instrumental Indie Chart, with several artists returning from previous lists. The power of left-of-centre Spotify playlists is on full display, with many artists discovered through the influential Anti-Pop and LOREM playlists.

After two consecutive appearances on our Pop Chart, US alternative R&B artist Hong Kong Boyfriend tops this week’s Indie Chart. HKBF’s latest track ‘see u dance’ features in several influential editorial playlists on Spotify, including Lorem, young & free, and Jasmine. Since releasing the track, Hong Kong Boyfriend’s Spotify following has grown by 11%, while his Instagram following has grown by 41% to over 4.8k.

Throughout the rest of the chart, American indie artists with a pop sensibility dominate. Featuring on our pop and indie charts for the past month, R&B artist SEB has maintained a significant Hot Streak. His recently released ‘seaside_demo’ features in Spotify playlists with over 24 million cumulative followers, including Pop Rising and Teen Party. Since ‘seaside_demo’ dropped, SEB’s Ix Score - our composite measure of streaming and social performance - has grown by 4 points.

New entry Aaron Taos lands at #3, with his latest single ‘Ain’t Over You’ already racking up 85k streams on Spotify and 32k views on YouTube in just over a week. The track features in Spotify’s 595k follower Anti-Pop playlist, with Taos’ following on the streaming platform growing by 16% since the track dropped.

Jake Wesley Rogers enters the chart at #4, with his single ‘Middle of Love’ featuring in Spotify’s huge LGBTQ+ Out Now playlist and his following growing by 42% over the past week. Rounding out the top 5, bennytheghost also owes his place to Spotify playlist support, with his new track ‘Papercut’ featuring in playlists such as Indie Pop and Left of Center.

Our top 10 this week features returning entries from previous #1 artist FRogers, whose punk track ‘Right Ones’ has captured the attention of the Spotify algorithm, being added to several Particle Detector playlists, and Korean artist eAeon, whose collaboration ‘Don’t’ with BTS’ was a viral hit.

New entries in the Top 10 come from Reuben James, Lawson Hull and General Crush, who have all grown off the back of new releases, with the latter putting out his latest single ‘Breathe’ with frtyfve.

Share story: